• Old  Rafflesians' Association

  • Old  Rafflesians' Association

  • banner04

Honorary Members
Dr Wee Kim Wee
Date & Place of Birth:  4 November 1915, Singapore
Marital Status: Married, 1 son and 6 daughters.
Education: Pearl's Hill School, 1923

Outram School, 1925

Raffles Institution, 1928 - 1929


Mr Lee Kuan Yew
Date & Place of Birth: 

Singapore, 16 Sep 1923


1936 - 1939

Raffles Institution

Raffles College, Singapore.

1942 - 1945

Spent Japanese occupation in Singapore and Malaya.

1946 - 1949

Fitzwilliam, Cambridge, England (1969 Honorary Fellow)

1946 - 1950

Rejoined UPA after the occupation of Singapore. In the early 1950s, was

Middle Temple, Barrister-at-Law (1969 Honorary Bencher)


Mr Goh Chok Tong

Born in Singapore on 20 May 1941, Mr Goh joined the Raffles Institution in 1955.  He entered the Bras Basah Road School a year after Mr John Young became principal.


Spending 6 years at RI, he saw through three principals. When Mr Goh graduated in 1960, Mr Wee Seong Kang was the Acting Principal and fellow schoolmate Mr Lee Keow Seong was the Head Prefect.

Professor Tommy Koh Thong Bee

Professor Tommy Koh Thong Bee, affectionately known as Tommy was born on 12 November 1937 in Singapore.  He was educated in Raffles Institution from 1952 to 1957.  In 1961, he graduated with an LLB (First Class Honours) degree from the University of Singapore , having been in the pioneer batch of law students.  He went on to Harvard University to obtain an LLM degree in 1964, and also a Postgraduate Diploma in Criminology from Cambridge University in 1965.

Dr Albert Hong Hin Kay

Dr Albert Hong Hin Kay was born in 1935 and studied at the Raffles Institution from 1950 – 1953.  He obtained his Dip Arch from Birmingham School of Architecture in the United Kingdom and was awarded in 1999 an Honorary Degree of Doctor of the University, by the University of Central England, Birmingham.

Miss Noel Evelyn Norris

This year's ORA Dinner is special. The Rafflesian alumni is honoured and proud to pay tribute to Miss Noel Evelyn Norris' passionate contributions to the Rafflesian community as a student, teacher and principal.


The Old Rafflesians' Association is privileged to award Miss Norris the ORA Honorary Life Membership. She is the ORA's first lady Honorary Life Member.

Professor S Jayakumar

S Jayakumar was born on 12 August 1939.


He was educated at Raffles Institution. He studied law at the University of Singapore, (Bachelor of Law, Honours, 1963) and Yale Law School, USA (Master of Law, 1966) He was admitted to the Bar in 1964.


He taught at the Faculty of Law in the National University of Singapore (formerly the University of Singapore) from 1964 to 1981. He became the Dean of the Faculty in 1974.


From 1971 - 1974, he was Singapore's Permanent Representative to the United Nations and High Commissioner to Canada. From 1974 to 1979, he was a member of Singapore's delegation to the UN Law of the Sea Conference.


Terms & Conditions. Copyright © 2012. Old Rafflesians' Association. All Rights Reserved.

Web Design by Webwise Workz.